Ambient Music & A Dreary Day

Yesterday was Cincinnati’s favorite holiday: Opening Day.

1984c2b4-d944-4b53-a054-b29ab76b2419_500

But today, you wouldn’t know it. We’re a thousand miles from the jubilation – we’ve been thrown head-first into the Overcast April Blues. Boo.

I had some menial tasks to do at work today, and I don’t know about you, but whenever I have something less-than-glamorous to do, I have a hard time focusing on it.

So I turned on Spotify and prayed to the playlist gods that there’d be something to help me tune in. And for once, there was.

I hit up a playlist called Deep Focus, and I was pleasantly surprised at what the ambient music did for me.

My favorites were Feel Ao Sad (Glides & Chimes) by Spiritualized

and Gusts of Wind Blowing in Different Directions by The Last Dinosaur.

Almost immediately, I was remembering my trips to Colorado and my time at the Garden of the Gods. It’s a desert park filled with mammoth rock formations and for me, at least, it just feels a little closer to heaven than most places. As a matter of fact, most parts of Colorado bring that feeling to the surface.

o-GARDEN-OF-THE-GODS-SHOOTING-facebook

The second song, by The Last Dinosaur reminded me of the quaint cabin my husband and I stayed in on our honeymoon. It was far from fancy, but our favorite place on the trip. I hope more than anything to return there with him and be as lazy as humanly possible together.

Screen Shot 2015-04-07 at 2.45.44 PM

Screen Shot 2015-04-07 at 2.46.03 PM

I’ll never forget laying in bed here and feeling like a really old married couple, as he watched television, and I read my books.

Overall, I think today was a great reminder that even when unexpected, music can take us to some of our favorite places. It’s important to respect that, and to not doubt that a new song or melody will be able to offer emotional drive.

Oh, and if you were wondering, I finished those menial tasks. And I was on a mental vacation while I did it.

Leave a Reply

