Whiney-Time Sounds

Sometimes I’m a sad kid.

1349913173944121_animate_zps84a7ce6a

No, not quite like that.

tumblr_inline_nmobruSKdh1qbqzx1_500

There. That’s better.

ANYWAY…

These are my favorite sad-time tunes. The ones that I ugly-cry to, and the ones that I get all angry and self-righteous listening to. They range from bratty teen anthems to songs that I’m proud to listen to.

Don’t judge. You have a sad-time playlist too. You just aren’t brave enough to publish it.

1. Jesus Christ – Brand New
Whiney-Time Lyrics: Do you believe you’re missin’ out? That everything good is happening somewhere else? But with nobody in your bed, the night’s hard to get through.

2. They’re Not Horses, They’re Unicorns – Bayside
Whiney-Time Lyrics: You’re pulling at your teeth and I’m the Novocain you pump in your cheeks. Thats why I’m still around, you’ve got blood running down your chin.
But you suffered peacefully. She was a termite eating away at my roots. I was just a lost soul who needed a home. I was filling a void with you. And I, I can’t, can’t wait until you’ve see see seen what depth and disgust has done to me.  And I spent three years wishing for two things: that one day you’d break, and I’d get to see how all the choices you made would drive you insane. I wish we never met.

3. Ghost Town – First Aid Kit
Whiney-Time Lyrics: I swear I can be better. I could be more to you. But there are things that lie in my path, that I just have to do.

4. I Can Feel Your Pain – Manchester Orchestra
Whiney-Time Lyrics: Cause I can feel your pain, in my bones, in my bones. I was scared to call your mother for news that you weren’t getting better. Well my God, what the hell am I supposed to do?

5. Don’t Wanna Be Your Girl – Wet
Whiney-Time Lyrics: I don’t wanna be your girl no more, no more. I just wanna see your face at home…I’m not living right so I decide that: I don’t wanna be your girl no more.

6. Playing God – Paramore
Whiney-Time Lyrics: If God’s the game that you’re playing, well we must get more acquainted. Because it has to be so lonely to be the only one who’s holy.

7. My Special Moment – The Vandals
Whiney-Time Lyrics: This is my special moment. Don’t question me or disagree. I know that I have earned this. Dammit I deserve this, do not fuck with me. It’s my special time.

8. Far Behind – Social Distortion
Whiney-Time Lyrics: With friends like you, who needs enemies? You ain’t right, you ain’t never gonna be…You shake my hand, while you’re pissing on my leg. I’m cutting you loose, I don’t need this misery.

9. Born to Die – Lana Del Rey
Whiney-Time Lyrics: Don’t make me sad, don’t make me cry. Sometimes love is not enough and the road gets tough; I don’t know why.

10. Cath… – Death Cab for Cutie
Whiney-Time Lyrics: And soon everybody will ask what became of you: ’cause your heart was dying fast, and you didn’t know what to do…The whispers that it won’t last roll up and down the pews. But if their hearts were dying that fast, they’d have done the same as you. And I’d have done the same as you.

11. Ache With Me – Against Me!
Whiney-Time Lyrics: Your voice echoes in the back of my mind. I see your face when I close my eyes. Do you share the same sense of defeat? Have you realized all the things you’ll never be? Ideals turn to resentment, open minds close up with cynicism. I’ve got no judgement for you – come on and ache with me.

12. Paper Bag – Fiona Apple
Whiney-Time Lyrics: Hunger hurts, and I want him so bad, oh it kills. ‘Cause I know I’m a mess he don’t wanna clean up. I got to fold ’cause these hands are too shaky to hold. Hunger hurts, but starving works, when it costs too much to love.

13. Singled Out – New Found Glory
Whiney-Time Lyrics: I figured all the years we shared were proof enough to extend my hand and help you. I know that getting started can be rough. Enthused smile, you seemed grateful – I felt good about myself. That’s until the day you showed me you don’t need anybody else. Why’d you have to go and make me say these things about you? Why’d you have to turn around? After all that we’ve been through…

One thought on “Whiney-Time Sounds

  1. Pingback: Singled Out – New Found Glory | The Beatkeeper

Leave a Reply

