Fall Back Down – Rancid

Don’t worry about me, I’m gonna make it alright
Got my enemies crossed out in my sight
I take a bad situation gonna make it right
In the shadows of darkness I stand in the light…

…If I fall back down, you’re gonna help me back up again
If I fall back down, you’re gonna be my friend

I haven’t been posting lately because I’ve been sad. That’s all there is to it. Last Thursday, my mom’s dog had to be put down VERY unexpectedly. My dad has been out-of-town for work, so I was the only one that could be there for her. When she called to say it was time, I left work and drove to be with her. It was one of the darkest days I’ve had as an adult. For some that might sound stupid, but for us, our dogs are our family. And Wren was a wild family member. Seeing my mom so devastated and knowing she’d now have to go home to an empty home plunged me into depression. I begged her to stay with Brandon and I at our apartment.

In addition to that, Brandon and I had been planning on adopting a second dog. So a day after putting down a beloved family member, I drove to Dayton to pick up a new one. Let’s just say, it hasn’t been easy at all.

On Friday when Jarrett and I got home with Ivy, we had a few friends at the house. And when the pressure became too much and I sobbed like a baby, they hugged me while standing in my kitchen, and left to give me time to process.

All of this leads into this song:

As mentioned before, I have a certain affinity for Indestructible by Rancid. It was released in 2003 while I was heading into high school, and I became addicted to it.

“Fall Back Down” is a much poppier song than their usual, but it always serves as a pick-me-up when I’m sad.

Let’s face it: my friends are amazing. They’re family. And family sticks together. This song is a break from the cynicism of punk, and I love the gratitude it conveys. Next time you’re emo, don’t be embarrassed to listen to a song that picks you up, regardless of how old or unpopular it may be. We all have our own journey to take when we’re having a hard time. Let’s just hope you have awesome people to share it with.

Leave a Reply

