Dry The Rain – The Beta Band

“I will now sell 5 copies of the 3 EP’s by The Beta Band.”

And he was right. God knows after hearing this song switched on in High Fidelity, I thought John Cusack was the best salesman since Edison.

My favorite part of this scene is when the customer says, “It’s good,” and Cusack responds, “I know.”

There were no qualifiers. No modesty. When something’s good, honesty is all that’s needed.

The scene in High Fidelity makes me laugh, though, because as I frequent Shake-It Records, I can imagine they do the same thing. “I’m going to play this song, and watch it sell.” They have to know when they put something on that’s catchy. When you go to a store like that, nothing’s an accident. Every detail of that place is thought-out.

How easily are manipulated like that in our lives? When I was younger, I lived for iPod commercials. You know the ones, with the dancing silhouettes. I almost always loved the music in those (and this was before SoundHound) so I’d have to search for at least 10-15 minutes before some hipster lamented on a message board that they’d been listening to the song for months.

I can almost promise you that Apple execs were sitting in their headquarters laughing all the way to the bank. They knew they had gold, and I can guarantee that sales of each song skyrocketed after those commercials were aired. I know that when I first heard the Fratellis song in the link above, I rushed out to buy that album. (Only for it to become stale for me a few road trips later.)

And for as much as I hate him, the new song by Eminem on the Southpaw trailer had me hitting up SoundHound in the middle of the theatre. It was powerful. And even if I don’t like the whole song, I love the echoey beginning where he announces he’s “Phenomenal.”

And even more impactful on me than Eminem’s latest “gem,” was the first time I heard “Dog Days Are Over,” on the trailer for Eat Pray Love. No joke. That’s where I heard it. And I had to search feverishly to find the damned song.

All of this brings me to a very good point: music isn’t just something we tune into by our choice anymore. It’s often thrust upon us. And the scene in High Fidelity is a perfect example of it. It’s an integral part of advertising/marketing, movies and more. It is what is chugging in the background, selling a product, or intensifying a movie. It’s the first thing I think of when I remember certain movies or scenes. I remember those soundtracks and soundbytes. And you should too. After all, you were sold on the song before you even knew it.

Leave a Reply

