Stormy Southern Gothic

Didja know that was a genre?! Yeah, well, I didn’t either.

I can’t say enough about this playlist. Forreal.

The other day in Cincinnati, it was so dark that it looked like it was nighttime. The rain was sure to hit us hard, and I needed something that could motivate me to do work. (Usually during gloomy weather, I just want to curl up with a blanket.)

There’s so many standouts on here, but it’s still chill enough to not steal away your focus. My favorite was “Hell’s Bells,” a slithery, sensual ballad that was apparently featured in “True Blood.”

The playlist is a hearty mix of chugging old-style country, folk and some cajun influences. It reminds me of how I imagine New Orleans would feel. Down-home, spooky and comforting all at the same time.

spooky-places-592x357

Leave a Reply

