Against Me! – Bogarts – June 27th

It’s been a long-ass time since I’ve been to Bogarts. I used to go all the time when I was in high school and early college. Then, somewhere along the line, I dropped off of going to shows.

So the last time I’ve seen Against Me! in concert was 2008 – I was long overdue.

When Brandon and I approached the entry line, I became incredibly nervous – and kinda bitchy. There were A LOT of pre-teens and young girls and I wondered just WTF was going on.

They seriously all looked like I did at 15: too much eyeliner, bad outfits and parents in-tow.

im-emo-so-you-dont-understand

Brandon saw the look on my face and couldn’t help but laugh. “Not the crowd you were expecting, huh?”

I furrowed my brow and glared at him, “No, not quite.”

There were three acts that night including AM! – Annie Girl and the Flight and frnkiero andthe cellabration. Once I put two and two together and realized that Frank Iero was from My Chemical Romance, I told Brandon, “I can promise you that all of these girls are here for Frank Iero.”

“No way! I bet they don’t even remember My Chemical Romance.”

Annie Girl and the Flight performed first and despite their shoddy sound quality, they had a few catchy songs. I respected their approach to the music as well. Plus, their drummer and bassist were fun to watch.

The minute that frnkiero andthe cellabration started, I was over them. His vocals were whiney and harsh and almost every song sounded the same. He seemed like he was trying too hard, but also thought he was too cool. I didn’t get it. I actually went to the bathroom to hide from the act for a minute. I needed a break.

Toward the end of their performance, there was a song where all of those pre-teens knew the lyrics and screamed them out. Brandon looked at me in shock, “You totally called that one! They’re all here for – him!”

Iero even introduced one of the songs by saying, “I wrote this in my basement,” and MY GAWD I wish it would’ve stayed there.

Once frnkiero andthe cellabration left the stage, I kid you not, half of the crowd went with him.

Confused, the AM! fans just shuffled up to the front, somewhat grateful for the departure.

Then, LJG and Against Me! approached the stage, and gave me the best performance I’ve experienced in years. It helps that I have a huge respect and massive crush on Laura Jane Grace. She was wearing a shirt that said, “Gender Is Over (If You Want It)” and her daughter sat stageside wearing a pink pair of ear muffs and playing on an iPad.

tumblr_nq68pg6jgs1twdqmuo1_500

She was just a ferocious as I remember her being in 2008. Her long hair covered her face like Cousin Itt and she thrashed and smiled her way through the set.

Brandon became a fierce fan of Against Me! after he found some of their older albums stashed away in my collection and started playing them in the car. He was nervous about seeing them live, worried that they wouldn’t live up to their recordings.

But I was completely confident in AM! and knew they wouldn’t disappoint. LJG’s vocals sounded eerily similar to the albums, and her voice never wavered.

They played an amazing mix of new and old, which was much-appreciated. The majority of the songs were gleaned from Transgender Dysphoria Blues, White Crosses, New Wave and Searching for a Former Clarity (my personal favorite).

  1. 12:03

Brandon isn’t big on crowds, so we stood along the wall for the majority of the show, but I ran into the mosh pit for “T.S.R.” and “I Was a Teenage Anarchist.” It was SOOOO worth it. It made me realize just how much I miss screaming a band’s lyrics back at them.

The next day my throat was sore as hell, and I didn’t regret it at all.

One thought on “Against Me! – Bogarts – June 27th

  1. Pingback: Black Me Out – Against Me! | The Beatkeeper

Leave a Reply

