Tear You Apart – She Wants Revenge

For the sake of full disclosure, I LOVE American Horror Story. Judge as you see fit.

The truth is, I love the horror genre. But not enough films come out yearly to satiate my addiction. And unfortunately, I’m a snob (Whomp Whomp).

I really like higher production values. I’m not the person that can watch, “Space Aliens & Cheerleaders 6” and find value in it. I need history and culling from real events and trends to keep me interested.

But, mainly, I’m a sucker for a good set. Seriously. If the set is ominous enough, I’m all-in.

And with the art deco opulence that is AHS: Hotel, I’m wrapped already. (Especially when I saw the Shining-esque carpet in the lobby! Swoon.)

ahs-hotel

Photo courtesy of Entertainment Weekly

So it’s no surprise that when I heard “Tear You Apart,” playing in the background of a vampire menage a quatre, I was immediately intrigued.

She Wants Revenge is often categorized as “Darkwave,” “Gothic Rock,” etc. In all honesty, I probably wouldn’t personally like any of their other tracks. But what I do love about this one is how it’s so unexpected, yet so fitting for the scene it’s in.

The monotone approach that Justin Warfield takes with his vocals works splendidly, lending to the eerie truth that The Countess and Donovan truly care for no one. Death, gore and violence are a hard constant of their reality. And even the sycophants like Donovan don’t always win.

She Wants Revenge seems like they fit nicely into that weird time around 2007/2008 with bands like Mindless Self Indulgence where they were slightly seeping into the mainstream despite obvious quirks to their music.

I’ve never exactly been a fan of industrial or electronic music, and despite a wardrobe of all black, I certainly don’t fit into the goth scene. But when a song sticks out and is attention-worthy, I have no problem playing it on repeat. I often still find myself repeating the line, “I like my coffee black just like my metal.

So kudos to She Wants Revenge for doing a great job of lodging themselves into my subconscious. And great work, AHS for continuing to pair haunting visuals, stunning setwork and memorable music together. You don’t have to like Glee to understand the addiction that Ryan Murphy can foster.

Leave a Reply

