I Go Blind – Hootie & The Blowfish

I never thought that this “band” would be one I’d write about. But when my sister-in-law loaded a 90s playlist titled, “Only Wanna Be With You,” this song queued up first.

I don’t give two shits about Hootie. I was about six years old when this song was in rotation.

The song, a cover of 54-40‘s original, was recorded strictly for the Friends soundtrack.(Which was, admittedly, one of my first cds.) The 90s were a weird time.

Honestly, when listening to 54-40’s version of it, one of the singers sounds eerily like Kermit, but hey, maybe that’s one of the reasons why Hootie’s version took off.

ANYWAY, the reason I’m dedicating a whole blog post to this song isn’t because I’m a huge Hootie fan. (Guh) But because it’s a song that reminds me of being a kid. I remember listening to it and dancing around my parents house. I was so happy before I started school. I hadn’t been made fun of yet, or taught to be embarrassed of myself or my interests. I was unabashedly myself, and I didn’t care if things were “cool” or not.

As an adult, I often miss that version of myself. The version that hadn’t been scarred yet by shitty kids/teenagers. The version that hadn’t had my heart broken. The version of myself that loved everything I found – because everything was new to me. I wore rain-boots and frills and crazy colors – because it’s what I wanted to do. I didn’t care if my clothes didn’t match.

I think that we can all benefit from finding those old versions of ourselves. Who knows, I might just dance around in my living room tonight to Hootie and not give two shits if my neighbors judge.

tumblr_lj3t79ToKm1qchk28.gif

I’d suggest you do the same. Be yourself. Be unafraid.

Leave a Reply

