2am – Bear Hands

Connecticut-based hipster rock usually isn’t something I go out of my way to hear.

But when “2am” crossed my headphones, I just kept hitting the “repeat” button.

Bear Hands originated in New York, despite their CT roots, and quickly became a buzz band in the NY music scene.

Listening to them reminds me of Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist, music lovers traipsing across the city to find an elusive and important band. I feel like people would do that to listen to Bear Hands.

tumblr_lkqb7hugwp1qa9fb5o1_500.gif

The reason “2am” piqued my interest was the catchiest hook I’ve heard in awhile, “Nothing good happens past 2am.”

As a music fan, and a 20-something, I can relate from personal experience. Their sentiment is spot-on. Every time I’ve drank too much, fought with friends, or made a general ass of myself, it was in the witchy hours past 1 or 2am. Lucky me. And I’m sure I’m not unique in that.

I think part of the familiarity and comfort I feel with Bear Hands music comes from lead vocalist Dylan Rau, who in my ears, sounds like Ben Davis of Cincinnati duo Bad Veins.

And with less than 600,000 YouTube views on their “2am” video, if you’re all about being on the up-and-up, it looks like you’ll still be finding this band before they’re at the zenith of their fame. Good on you.

 

 

Leave a Reply

