Audiotree Session – Charly Bliss

The cold has officially gripped Cincinnati, and man, it’s rough. My car doesn’t want to start, my body doesn’t want to function, and everything is Frozen frozen.  (No but really, I hate that movie.)

I was fighting to find motivation at the gym one night, and I told myself, “If I can make it through this circuit workout, I’ll watch/listen to Charly Bliss’ Audiotree session.

Typically, I’m not a fan of “live” anything aside from being in-person at a concert. I hate live albums and I find it painful listening to the recorded stage banter.

But this Audiotree session is different. For one, the sound quality is pretty impeccable. It’s easy to forget at certain points that it’s being live-recorded, which I think speaks to both their engineers, and the band.

This video/recording is also so damned charming. Charly Bliss doesn’t seem to have an ego, and they’ll answer any question without pause. The interviewer is also delightfully awkward at points. He does a great job at seeming both excited to talk to them, and also willing to ask a good mix of goofy and insightful questions.

Charly Bliss is often described as a “bubblegum grunge” band, and they largely remind me of the bands that took the forefront in “10 Things I Hate About You.” I feel like I’m getting another taste of one of my favorite movies.

tumblr_ltauac0PWM1qarqt3o1_500.gif

The band was formed in 2014, and many of its members have true musical experience and stage knowledge, Eva has a BFA in Recorded Music, and others have Musical Performance, Creative Writing, and Theatre degrees. There’s definitely something behind their catchy choruses and hooks.

So far the band has unfortunately only released EP’s (and a comic book series?!), but they’ve shown a strong effort, and those songs alone are capable of making me hang on for dear life waiting for their full release.

I’d suggest giving Charly Bliss a spin if you need motivation or just to rock out against the depressing winter backdrop.

Leave a Reply

