Me and Your Mama – Childish Gambino

On a rainy day, I decided to stop by a friend’s apartment and relax for awhile.

When I walked in, she had Childish Gambino’s newest album streaming through her television.

At first, I didn’t realize who it was. All I’d known him for was rap, and quite honestly, I’ve never been hip to the rap scene.

But when the bass dropped in this song, I immediately yelled out, “WHO IS THIS?!” like someone with Tourette’s. The evil laugh that sounds like a mix of Bowser from Mario and a horror movie, had me hooked.

Following this revelation, I went home and listened to the whole album on Spotify. It’s such a gem.

And it’s no secret to the world, unfortunately. I was a latecomer this time.

The psychedelic roadtrip Gambino takes the listener on is pure joy. It’s laden with rich, sexy, soulful 70s funk. His performance on The Tonight Show of “Redbone,” only further cemented the raw talent and energy he has. Clad in metallic leather pants, no shirt, and a ‘stache for the gods, he belts out “Redbone” in a stunning falsetto.

There’s no denying the sex appeal of Awaken, My Love, but if you need a smooth, soulful album for a rainy day, there’s nothing better.

donald-glover-gif-i0.gif

Leave a Reply

